Hair Story
by NoNieqa Ramos, illustrated by Keisha Morris

Coming September 7, 2021
ISBN: 9781541579163
Add to your Goodreads!
Pre-Order: Boogie Down Books
| Bookshop | Amazon | B&N

Rudine’s hair resists rollers, flat irons, and rules. Together, the girls play hair salon! They take inspiration from their moms, their neighbors, their ancestors, and cultural icons. They discover that their hair holds roots of the past and threads of the future. With rhythmic, rhyming verse and vibrant collage art, author NoNieqa Ramos and illustrator Keisha Morris follow two girls–one Puerto Rican, one Non-Latinx Black girl–as they discover the stories hair can tell.

Praise for Hair Story…

“A lovely lesson in loving and having pride in oneself, perfect for fans of Matthew Cherry’s Hair Love and for any shelf seeded with positive messaging.” –Selenia Paz, Harris County P.L., Houston, School Library Journal, Link to full review pending

 

   Press and Interviews for Hair Story

 School Library Journal: WHAT’S YOUR HAIR STORY?

READ WOKE LIBRARIAN: CELEBRATE NATURAL HAIR